americatrip.reismee.nl

Griffith Observatory, Downtown LA, Hollywood Sign Hike

Yesterday evening was my first activity from the hostel. You could sign up to visit the Griffith Observatory, so I did. At 5 pm we met in the lounge of the hostel. There were quite some people going. As we walked to the underground, which is right on the opposite of the hostel, I got to talk to some new people already. They were all solo travellers from all over the world; Australia, Germany, UK, China and some Americans from other states as well. We went to see the sunset at the Griffith observatory.

However, the sun disappeared behind the clouds so there was not much of a sunset to watch. The view from the observatory was amazing though. I could see the whole city, which is again ridiculously big. The view was stunning and it was even more amazing when it got dark. The city lights are just so pretty. After visiting the observatory we went back towards our hostel with the metro. Travelling with the metro gave us enough time to get to know each other. It's really nice to meet some new people. We even decided to grab some food at a Mexican restaurant, which was very nice and after that we still chilled a little bit at the hostel lounge.

Today we went downtown LA. I really liked it, it's really beautiful there. The weather was really nice as well. We visited a couple of places and grabbed lunch together at the market place. I'm still amazed of how big the portions are here. I got a burrito, but it was one big ass burrito. I couldn't even eat half of it.

After walking around downtown LA for a few hours a few people decided to hike to the Hollywood sign today as well. We grabbed an Uber to the closest point at the Hollywood sign and from there we walked up. Actually people are not allowed to hike up there, but everybody does it anyways. The hike took about an hour and we got some pretty pictures with the Hollywood sign.

We also decided to walk up to get a view from behind the Hollywood sign. This hike was not really easy. It was hot and the road was quite steep sometimes but when we got up we got a beautiful view of Los Angeles and Burbank on the other side. The walk down also took a while. We've hiked for about three hours in total. I was exhausted when we arrived at the hostel and I quickly took a nap. I really needed that but I'm still very tired. I must be jetlag.

Anyways, I had a great second day in Los Angeles. I really enjoy it here!

See ya!

Reacties

Reacties

opa

geen wonder dat er dikke amerikanen zijn, wat ik mij nog kan herinneren zijn die enorme bekers met ijs, geniet met volle teugen

Mama Anita

Wat een ervaringen..zo leuk om te lezen. Don't get used to the big American portions of food ?

Ingrid Wolf

I know this big burittos from my last visit in California..unbelievable...maar lekker...

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!